Texting: not SO bad… if you’re smart.

I’ve often thought about this, especially when I just got into cell phones.

I guess you could say I’m relatively new to the cell phone thing.  I’ve had a cell phone for about 5 years now I guess, but it’s been the same cell phone for that entire time.  It works/worked for me, so why bother updating.  No camera, no full keyboard, yada yada yada.  So I didn’t jump on to the RAZR or iPhone train when they both came out with all their crazy texting abilities.

*sidenote*  Oooh, it’s snowing!

Anyways, I came across this article today, and it mentioned how texting was previously thought to ‘dumb down’ our ability to spell, but when I started texting, I was thinking the exact opposite.  Now unlike many people (apparently), I HAVE TO BE grammatically correct when I text, it’s just a huge pet peeve of mine when it comes to texting.  I’m not alone either, because I’ve met people who think the exact same way.texting_n_driving_544x408

There are many ways to keep your brain active.  Texting can be one of them, if you do it smart.

There are the obvious smart ways to texting:

  • Sweet peanut, don’t text while you’re driving, I’m sure it can wait.  I don’t even talk on my phone while I’m driving… My philosophy: I talk on my own time, not because someone might need an immediate answer.  I have caller ID, so if it rings, I check it then put it back down and call them back in 5 minutes when I’ve stopped somewhere.  My friends bitched at first, but then they got the jist of it, and knew I would probably call them back in 5 minutes.
  • Take your time…
  • If there’s that much to talk about, REALIZE THAT YOU’RE USING A PHONE.  It’s primary use being that you can speak in one end, and hear from the other.  Yes, texting’s typically cheaper and it comes in handy in terms of long distance, but the stuff most people text over the course of an hour could probably take 7 minutes on the phone.

Then there are the smart ways to, well, make you smarter. Like I mentioned earlier, I’m grammatically correct when I text.

Example:

‘C U L8R!’

‘See you later!’

I know, crazy, right??!

It might be annoying at first, mostly because you can feel your brain working, and most people aren’t used to that… so give it a go, even with word recognition on, and use big words!  Texting’s cheap right?!  Get some big words in there!!!  Ha…!  Sometimes I use the word recognition almost like a spell check.  If I’m not totally sure how to spell it, I start it out the way I know, then it lets me know (‘indubitably’ is actually in my phone)… now the spelling is burned into my head, along with a small tumor.

If you need a pair of these, you’re probably texting a little too much.

Unfortunately, my texting days are on hiatus, seeing as I cracked my screen in a drunken frenzy over the holidays.

P.S.  Don’t be like this girl, and use your phone to text about your phone.

Leave a Reply

