Never a dull day at TED.

If you haven’t heard of TED, then now is the time.  TED (Technology, Entertainment, and Design) is basically a conference of top minds getting together and spreading their ideas.  The wicked thing about TED.com, is that they post all of the talks online throughout the year, and some of them are pretty fantastic and eye-opening.

ted_logo

My friend Jane, who has a fantastic blog on WordPress by the way, first introduced me to TED almost a year ago, and I haven’t been able to stop watching it since.  However, this week is the week when the actual conference takes place in Long Beach, and all the new talks for 2009 are going on.  One such talk by Bill Gates probably caught most people’s attention when he spoke of the containment of malaria around the world, and in an effort to drive the message home, releases a small swarm of mosquitoes into the audience.

Although I like his talk, he does go out on a tangent talking about the education system (which is fine, and I get the connection), but it just caught me by surprise and I actually wanted to know more about his plans for malaria, which is kind of ironic because he speaks of the lack of education for malaria, yet isn’t educating me through his talk!  But that’s just me, and it was still a good listen!

Leave a Reply

