What the eff is PETA doing…?

I’m all for the proper treatment of animals.  I have dogs, cats, sheep, a horse, a llama, and quite a few chickens (all free-range, just to let you know).  But seriously, how come I’ve been hearing so much about PETA these days, and the crud they’re campaigning?

At first, I’ve just been brushing off everything I hear about PETA these days, but over the past couple weeks, I’ve been hearing a little more than usual.  From PETA’s Sea Kitten campaign, to their banned Super Bowl ad that promotes ‘vegetarians having better sex’, which obviously is part of their equally bizarro ‘Veggie Love‘ campaign… actually the sea kittens are more messed.

Awww, they're just SOO cute...

Awww, they're just SOO cute...

My friend Kat sent me the link to the ‘kids stories’ about sea kittens (they’re on the page somewhere), which I wouldn’t show my never show my would-be kids… first off, because they’re depressing, secondly, because it’s a stupid campaign.  Humans have been fishing for ages and I would bet it would’ve probably been one of the first sources hunted food.  I really don’t even know where to start with us, to be honest.  It seems like a lot of money is being spent on these campaigns that they must know that most people think is a joke.  Click on the link to the ‘sea kittens’ campaign to actually see how many people they have on their petition… for the world’s biggest organization against cruelty to animals, 7,000 people is not very many.

Don’t get me wrong, lately there’s been a lot of news of overfishing and fish farming, and it’s becoming a problem

… but there are definitely ways to go about doing something about then trying to get everyone to call fish, sea kittens.  I hate to say it, but all the fish in farms are not going to be released because all of sudden, they’re just so damned cute.

Here’s something for you….

in January, PETA wrote letters to the principals of Whitefish High School of Missoula, Montana, and Spearfish High School (South Dakota?).  The letters outlined reasons why they believe the names of their respective schools should be changed from their current name to Sea Kitten High School.  First off, where the hell is Missoula, and why do we care?  There’s a Whitefish Elementary School right here in Thunder Bay, and it would probably get just as little recognition from a name change than the one in Missoula.

I’ve had nothing against PETA until now, and I see these campaigns that are not being taken seriously, when I’ve seen CBC documentaries on dog farms (land puppy farms) in Quebec which get the message across much much better, and they’re more likely to get sympathy from me than PETA ever would.  Anyways, that’s all I have to say about that…

I’d recommend checking out these campaigns for yourself, and even comment back on my site about it, because I’d definitely like to hear other opinions.

Sea Kittens Campaign

‘Veggie Love’ Campaign <— this one has the banned Super Bowl commercial.

Leave a Reply

