The Clean Bin Project = Good stuff.

garbage can_RGB

A garbage bin... most likely not clean.

I read a lot of stuff (no, I don’t), and by reading, I mean flipping through catalogues, such as the outdoor catalogue of MEC (Mountain Equipment Co-op).

Background: For all the non-Canadians, MEC is a is a cooperative business specializing in outdoor equipment where every member buys a share for $5 (I think it’s $5) and then technically you own a part of the company.  There are stores located across Canada and you can order online, yada yada.  For Americans, it’s basically REI.

Anyways, I was flipping through the catalogue and read this little piece about these three people taking a wicked initiative to not buy any consumer goods for a year (excluding food, but there are rules about that deliciousness too).  I thought this sounded like a pretty cool idea, especially when I heard that they’re not hippies… honestly, if they were, I probably wouldn’t pay attention… sorry hippies.

I went to their site, and noticed that they’re almost done, which kind of bummed me out a bit.  Only 20-30 some odd days to go.  But, while I think their project is a good idea, and I say kudos for taking it on (because I probably wouldn’t survive), I’m more anxious (excited-wise) to see their documentary about the whole ordeal.  I especially like the bit in the preview where the girl, Jen I presume, mentions that while having no waste for your groceries while in line at the grocery store, the person behind you is double-bagging all their stuff anyways… so will it make a difference?  Honestly, I think about that everytime I go to the grocery store, or any store for that matter.  Because I’m so used to brining my own bags (when I forget them I feel like everyone is watching), that I don’t understand how everyone else hasn’t caught on?  It doesn’t make sense to me…

Anyways, I hope that the documentary reaches a lot of people when it comes out, and is made out of recycled Steven Seagal DVD covers (I’m sure there are a lot of them).  While it might not make a difference on a global scale, even getting a hundred people to at least  think about consuming less will do some good… it’s not rocket science, just science.

Good on ya guys, and congratulations on your $1000 MEC gift certificate which I’m sure you’ve enshrined on top of your fridge of something.  And for the record, MEC is the only catalogue I read… and Mohair Clothes Weekly.

3 Responses to The Clean Bin Project = Good stuff.

  1. Jen CleanBin says:

    Thanks for the plug Avery! We’re down to the wire here on the Clean Bin Project (but don’t think our year will truly end on July 1st -once you stop putting stuff in that bin, it’s pretty hard to start again.)

    We deferred our MEC prize until the end of the year. It gives us a little time to think about what we actually want instead of just going on a mindless shopping spree. If all goes well, we’ll have a film by next year and will get to screen in live and in person in Thunder Bay (among other places). Maybe see you there.

    • Well putting less and less in the bin is the idea, right? I’m about to own my very own house, so I’ll definitely be getting a better idea of how I stand with consumerism… I don’t think I’m terribly bad, but definitely room for improvement!

      I’d definitely come to the screening in Thunder Bay if you stop on through! Keep me posted…!

  2. Jen CleanBin says:

    Hey Avery,
    not sure if you noticed, but we’re in Thunder Bay tonight, July 25th – at Lakehead University. Rm AT1005. Hope to see you there.

Leave a Reply

