If I have to learn this math, I’m doomed…

I can’t stand math, with a sweet passion… But if I had to learn some math to figure out the apocalypse via zombification, I might manage.

That’s exactly what some students at Carleton and Ottawa Universities did not too long ago.  Apparently they mathematically calculated the spread and subsequent zombification of the planet like a pandemic spreading around the globe.  SPOLER ALERT: We die…  But I thought it was kind of an interesting read… but not because of zombies, mostly because I hope that students don’t actually get funding for this.  Really?  I don’t care how it relates to actual pandemics, that’s just crazy talk… how come I’m not in medicine!  I lied, it wasn’t much of an interesting read… Did I mention there’s also a Zombie Research Society?  Thankfully, non-profit…

I don't think they factored in that we'd probably escape because they'd be dancing most of the time.

I don't think they factored in that we'd probably escape because they'd be dancing most of the time.

But again, I’m also interested in the professor heading up the project, and how he purposely added a question mark to his name to be different (Robert J. Smith?).  Does he get money to do this?  Do his students have to pronounce his name like a question every time they say it?  “My zombie thesis?  Oh, I’m working with Dr. SMITH? over there”.  Obviously that’s hard to type, but you get the idea… jerk.

Question: If everybody on Earth eventually becomes a zombie, what will they (we) feed on afterwards?  If I waited it out somewhere tricky while everybody died off, would I have the planet to myself?

Answer: I hate math…

Leave a Reply

