Stop embarrassing yourselves…

I understand the whole activist thing, and I don’t mind it at all,  but Greenpeace… really.

Yet again they attack the Tar Sands of Alberta.  Now, I’m a little torn to be completely honest.  I’m in the geology business, but I refuse to work for oil.  Not because I think it’s wrong, and the Earth is being destroyed yada yada, but because why would I want to work anywhere near the root of all current controversy?  No thanks… keep me out of Alberta.  But on the other side of the coin, in current times oil is pretty essential.  It’s too bad that it has become essential, but we’re in too deep now, and until we’re able to weasle our way of it, we’re going to have to keep using it.

Impressive...... the truck, I mean.

At least they're wearing protective gear.

Ok wait, I forgot to mention how I got to this.  The other day, 12 Greenpeace activists stormed an upgrader (a giant building where they break down oil for other uses… like say, gas for your car to drive to a Greenpeace rally).  The upgrader is located in the Alberta tar sands, and this is apparently the 4th time they’ve done this.  The first three must not have worked, because nobody cared.  Regardless, they’re protesting the ‘dirtiness’ of retrieving oil from the sands, and the energy it uses, and all the environmental implications.  Yes, it’s a dirty job… yes, it mostly revolves around giant corporations making money, and that’s a total downside to the system, and most people end up getting the shaft.  But, this will never change… again, we’re in too deep, and whether we like it or not, we rely on oil.

I hate to say it, but taking over factories, and chaining yourselves to trucks is not going to do a whole lot.  I’m glad you’re taking interest, but you’d have more chance of making a difference if you became a politician.  In fact, you’d have more chance of making a difference if you wrote a letter to a politician.  In case you’re wondering, there isn’t much of a chance… point is, aggressive activism such as Greenpeace demonstrations, do so much less than other forms of activism.

And unless these people that came from all over the world to protest, came by sailboat, or Davinci’s peddal-bird, and used bacon grease to run their trucks to storm the place, I’m calling them hipocrites.  I’m guessing they didn’t, since they’re probably vegetarians too, and don’t eat bacon.  It’s a humdinger if I ever dinged a hum…

(I’d say hummed a ding, but that just doesn’t seem right…)

Leave a Reply

