Dubai: You’re just so crazy…!

I’ve been meaning to write about Dubai for probably the better part of a year now, but now so much has happened since then, that I can’t fit it all into one post!  So there’s going to have to be…. MORE THAN ONE!!

The Burj Dubai..... best Wi-Fi hotspot in town.

If you haven’t been following the news at all, the Burj Dubai finally opened it’s doors last week, officially becoming the tallest building in the world.  Now, I honestly don’t know how I feel about Dubai.  Here you have a city that, over the past decade, has built itself up into one of the greatest, and definitely expensive and posh, cities in the world, completely built on oil.  And while I’m not a big fan of such luxuries being created due to this, I can’t ignore the other side of the coin.  That is, that this bizarrely successful city presents a number of opportunities for the creative types to put their creations on the map.  The Burj Dubai being one of them.

The Burj Al Arab... your retirement wouldn't last 2 days.

The first being the Burj Al Arab, the famous ‘sail’ hotel off the coast of Dubai, becoming the first 7-star hotel in the world.  And it’s a hotel alright… I think I heard just to have lunch there (without booking a room) is somewhere in the range of $2500, which is freaking ridiculous, but so is Dubai itself.

To get an idea of just how huge the Burj Dubai tower is, the video below is a fly-by of the now famous building, which still blows my mind.

That’s about all for now, but maybe I’ll actually write about something interesting next time, who knows!

3 Responses to Dubai: You’re just so crazy…!

  1. Paul says:

    Before posting try getting more information. Been to Burj Al Arab and what you have posted about the lunch is not true. Soo..for your own credibility …get better information. Have a nice day! Paul

    • averyhenderson says:

      Well, what can I say, I read it somewhere in an article I found. But seeing as you’ve been to Dubai, you’re the best source of information I know, so instead of yammering on about my incorrect information, a nicer gesture would be to post exactly how much lunch actually is at the Burj Al Arab, instead of keeping the information to yourself. It’s called spreading the wealth, and I think that would’ve been a much better post than your last one.

      It’s not my credibility I’m worried about.

  2. Mukhtar says:

    I looked it up and it’s about $2,600 for a room per night. The lunch probably would be around $100 per person is my guest. The kicker is that you probably need to make reservations super far in advance.

Leave a Reply

