More Icelandic Boom Boom!!

I’m telling you, Iceland’s gonna go ooooffff!

The same volcano in Iceland, which for some reason doesn’t have a name, which erupted last month, is at it again!  It’s located in the Eyjafjallajoekull area, so we’ll just call it that… but not out loud, because that’s just ridiculous.

Unlike the last eruption, this one actually occurred under glacial ice, raising water levels in rivers by several metres before the eruption even began.  No casualties whatsoever, however quite a few villages had to be evacuated.

This isn't Iceland, but pretty cool, yeah?

But while this eruption is wreaking havoc for parts of Iceland, the stories in the news are concentrated elsewhere.  Again, unlike the last eruption, this one released tons and tons of volcanic ash into the air, and prevailing winds are smackin’ Europe in the face!!  Long story short, don’t get on that plane, yo!  Flights anywhere to and from most of Europe, are grounded because of all the ash flying about.

Why does this mess things up?  Well when most people think of ash, they think of the stuff left in firepits basically… wood ash.  Volcanic ash is a little different.  Think of it as smashing a window down to a dust, because that’s what volcanic ash is…. glass.

Getting fine glass sucked up into an engine just isn’t a good thing.  Haven’t you ever seen Dante’s Peak?!  Actually, however lame that movie is, scientifically it’s probably more accurate than any other volcano movie.  Except for no geologist looks like Pierce Brosnan…. except for me, I’m fucking dashing.

So for your enjoyment, here are pictures of me in geology action!:

Here I am getting ready to unload some samples...

Here I am questioning my career choices...

2 Responses to More Icelandic Boom Boom!!

  1. dan says:

    Hi…
    I’ve been reading ur blog 4 some time now and wanted to thank you for the intresting things you post here.
    The thing is I study physics and im doing a project on meteorology and come across the term “jet stream” in my study. I don’t if its my bad searching or there really isn’t much on this subject on the net. I was wondering if you wouldn’t happen to know about this subject or any good refrences I could go to.
    I’d be more than thankfull for your reply…
    have a nice day
    maede

    • averyhenderson says:

      Hey, thanks for reading, it gives me incentive to keep writing!

      Anyways, jet streams are basically large ‘streams’ of air, roughly 2-3 miles wide (from what I remember), and travel from west to east encircling each of Earth’s poles (one in the northern hemisphere, one for the south). These are the polar jet streams. The reason they’re called ‘jet’ streams, is because the air within travels much much faster than your typical winds. How does this happen? Well the jet stream is actually a boundary; the boundary between the cold arctic air up in the north, and the much warmer air near the equator. When they ‘collide’, they have a party and get all rowdy. Now combine that with the Earth’s rotation, and you get your circular path around each pole, hence why it moves from west to east. There are also subtropical jet streams, but they only occur in the winter (I think), and I don’t know know much about them… maybe I’ll make a post about it, I basically just wrote one, haha.

      If you ever take a plane across Canada going from Vancouver to Halifax, you’ll notice it’s probably a much quicker flight than going the other way around. I had to get some Canadiana content in there, but also because northern polar jet stream travels straight across the entire country most of the time.

      That was a long reply, but I’ll try and find some links for you! You can also try national Meterological Societies, most countries have them, I’m sure they have information. If you have any more questions, pleeaaasse let me know! When you learn something, I tend to learn something too!

Leave a Reply

